Results of the Municipal By-Elections held on 8 March 2017

The African National Congress has retained the ward it won in the 2016 Municipal Elections in by-elections contested yesterday in Dr JS Moroka Municipality in the Mpumalanga province.

  • Johannes Charley Skhosana is the new councillor in Ward 11 of Dr JS Moroka Municipality – MP316.  The seat was retained by the party with 48.03% of the 4 232 votes cast. Voter turnout was 62.12%.

The detailed results are available on the IEC website at

Ensuring free, fair and credible elections

9 March 2017

For media queries: Please contact Kate Bapela on 082 600 6386
For media interviews: Please email requests to

You can also find the IEC on -
• Facebook:
• Twitter: @IECSouthAfrica
• You Tube: