Results of the Municipal By-Elections held on 5 February 2020

In the by-elections contested yesterday, 5 February 2020, the African National Congress (ANC) retained the seat it won in the 2016 Municipal Elections.

Ntombizodwa Nyati is the new ANC councillor in ward 55 in the Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality. The party retained the seat it won in the 2016 Municipal Elections, with 68.36% of the votes cast compared to 74.91% in the 2016 Municipal Elections. Voter turnout yesterday was 26.84%.

The by-elections scheduled to take place ward 1 and 7 in the Phokwane Municipality - NC094 yesterday did not proceed due to an interdict from the Gauteng High Court following a successful challenge by the two councillors who were expelled by the ANC in October 2019.

For more detailed election results please visit the Electoral Commission’s website at

Ensuring free, fair and credible elections 

For media queries: Please contact Kate Bapela on 082 600 6386
For media interviews: Please email requests to

You can also find the IEC on -
• Facebook:
• Twitter: @IECSouthAfrica
• You Tube: