Voter registration this weekend for wards to be contested in Municipal By-Elections on 11 April 2018

Two municipal ward by-elections are scheduled to take place in the Eastern Cape and Limpopo provinces on Wednesday, 11 April 2018.

Voting stations listed below will be open this Saturday, 17 February 2018, and Sunday, 18 February 2018, from 08h00 to 17h00 to allow all eligible voters to register and for current voters to check their registration details and to provide/update address details where necessary.

Voters should take their identity document (ID) with them – either a green barcoded ID book, a smartcard ID, or a valid Temporary ID Certificate. They will also need to complete their physical home address on registration or provide sufficient particularities of their place of residence. Documented proof of address (e.g. a municipal account) is not required.

Voters may also check and update their details at their local (municipal) Electoral Commission (IEC) office weekdays during office hours.

Voters are reminded that it is a criminal offence to register and vote in a ward in which they are not ordinarily resident.

The following are the details of the by-elections: 

Eastern Cape:

Ward 2 in the Kou-Kamma Municipality – EC109 with 3 078 registered voters which became vacant as a result of the resignation of the councillor. Registration and voting will take place at the following stations:

Voting District/Station Number      Voting Station Details
10400016                                      COLDSTREAM COMMUNITY HALL
10420029                                      KRAKEELRIVIER COMMUNITY HALL
10420063                                      LANGKLOOF UNITED CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH
10420085                                      FARM BRANDHOEK SCHOOL
10420096                                      LETABAKOP PTY LTD


Ward 16 in the Mogalakwena Municipality – LIM367 with 3 794 registered voters which became vacant as a result of the death of the councillor. Registration and voting will take place at the following stations:

Voting District/Station Number      Voting Station Details
76480049                                      WEENEN COMBINED SCHOOL
76480241                                      MARCUS MASIBE PRIMARY SCHOOL
76480296                                      STERKRIVIER HOËRSKOOL
76480410                                      TINEMYN POLICE STATION
76480780                                      MARIBASHOEK 49 TENT
76480959                                      EILAND PRIMARY SCHOOL
76480982                                      KATLEGO INTERNET CAFFEE
76480993                                      MATLHABA PRIMARY SCHOOL
76520077                                     DRUMMOND LEA SHOP
76520123                                     KAALLEEGTE PRIMARY SCHOOL

Special voting will take place at voting stations as well as through home visits on 10 April 2018 between 08h00 and 17h00. Voters wishing to apply to cast a special vote can apply at their local IEC office during office hours between 26 and 29 March 2018.

Applications for special votes can also be made online via the IEC’s website, Once voters have applied online they will receive an SMS notifying them of the outcome when their application has been processed. They can also check the status of their special vote application online at

Voters can also apply for special votes via cellphone by SMSing their identity number to 32249 (Charged at R1). The SMS application facility is only available for those applying to cast a special vote at their voting station and NOT for home visits.

For more information on these by-elections contact your local (municipal) IEC office weekdays during office hours. Contact details for all IEC offices are available on the IEC website at under Contact Us.

Ensuring free and fair elections

15 February 2018

For media queries: Please contact Kate Bapela on 082 600 6386
For media interviews: Please email requests to

Also find the IEC on -
• Facebook:
• Twitter: @IECSouthAfrica
• You Tube:


The cut-off dates for the various electoral processes for these by-elections are as follows:
9 March:             Notice calling the by-election on or before, and opening of nomination of candidates
15 March:           Certification of the voters’ roll
19 March:           Cut-off date and time for submission of nomination of candidates
20 March:           Notify party/independent nominator of non-compliance of outstanding candidate documents
23 March:           Cut-off date and time for party/independent to submit outstanding ward candidate documents
23 March:           Notices: List of and particulars pertaining to voting stations and mobile voting stations
26 March:           Compilation and certification of lists of candidates contesting a ward 
26 March:           Issue certificates to candidates 
26 March:           Opening of applications for special votes
29 March:           Closing of applications for special votes
10 April:              Special votes at voting stations and special vote home visits (08h00 to 17h00)
11 April:             By-election (Voting takes place at voting stations between 07h00 and 21h00)

(Note: All deadlines are at 17h00 on the date listed)